3 comments on “Why Not Dance?

  1. I took dance classes as a kid, and I did tons of musicals growing up, but when it comes down to it I’m just a terrible dancer. I think it mostly boils down to the fact that I have absolutely no rhythm. And I instinctively go to the left when everyone else goes to the right, which makes crashing into others a hazard. I just find myself feeling awkward and embarrassed because I can’t make myself move like everyone else. It’s easier to avoid it altogether.

    • I see. Out of curiosity, have most of your dance experiences been with choreographed dancing? It seems that way based on what you said; doing musicals, formal dance classes, etc. Of course, please correct me if I’m wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚ And thanks for your response; ’tis much appreciated!

  2. I love your points about dancing and music being synonomous in some cultures and social dance being a life skill. It strikes me that in our culture, social dancing is somewhat akin to playing a musical instrument or even singing publicly. Most everyone loves music and can express that joy by singing and/or moving to the music (dancing) in private, but few title themselves “a singer” , “a dancer” or “a musician” without professional training. What everyone DOES do is passively enjoy (listening/watching) those who know what they’re doing. Think The Voice and DWTS. What’s great about your blog is that you explain how accessable and FUN acquiring “professional dance training” can be in today’s Boston scene.

Leave a Reply

